Rachel writes: summer greetings!

August: A follow-up ALM thesis-topic meeting with Dean Sue Schopf the other day yielded a more-or less solid plan–I’ll flesh out my proposal for submission by about Sept 1.

My current idea is not at all what I started out researching at the end of May, though you could say there is a connection. The new topic took a bit of convincing to persuade Dean Schopf that my idea had heft, but by the end of our very lively and interesting chat, it appeared that I was given the green light.

So I’ll continue my research and proposal writing for the next few weeks. I’m hoping to complete my thesis by April 1 2012 and anticipate graduating in May, if all goes according to schedule. Naturally there’s much to do between then and now. But planning backwards sometimes not only facilitates realistic scheduling, it also helps to frame an endlessly daunting project as finite.

Though I won’t be enrolled in any courses over the next year, I hope to attend some of the thesis-writers meetings–ALM proposal & thesis writers discussion groups are held monthly at 51 Brattle Street & are hosted by the research advisors. The coming year’s schedule should be available online soon. I will post it here as soon as I can, but you can also watch for updates here: <http://www.extension.harvard.edu/degrees-certificates/master-liberal-arts/degree-requirements/thesis&gt;

Enjoy the rest of the summer!

