Rachel writes: Il pleure dans mon coeur (un petit peu seulement)

“Il pleure dans mon coeur
Comme il pleut sur la ville;
Quelle est cette langueur
Qui pénètre mon coeur ?”

I will tell you what this “langueur” is–I am sure it’s quite close to what Verlaine must have felt when he wrote the above lines . . . last meeting of my Saturday seminar was yesterday! When a semester ends, it’s always difficult to end the bonds with fellow students which formed only weeks before. Makes me a bit sad. But I cheer myself with a couple of thoughts: (1) we can continue being friends outside of class, and (2) I’ve now got only one project to complete between the end of this semester and beginning work on my thesis proposal.

Meanwhile, see how my mood yesterday matches the sogginess of Harvard Square in the attached photo.

23 April 2011--Massachusetts Hall in the rain

Only a couple of weeks ago, on a sunny Saturday, the lawn chairs had come back to Harvard Yard (see the second photo).

9 April 2011--The return of the lawn chairs to Harvard Yard

I hope to see more of those chairs in the weeks remaining of this semester.

