Rachel writes: The glazed eye of the storm

My sister teaches at one of the state universities in California. She mentioned when I spoke to her the other day that this is the time of year when her students have that peculiar,  glazed-eye stare that says “How will I ever manage to complete all the work I have still to do before the semester is over in only a few weeks?”

I told her that I look that way at the moment. I feel like a research-paper machine, having churned out several since September, one completed only yesterday and two still in process, one due on the 14th and another on the 20th. These next few weeks will need careful time-budgeting. For example, I’ve saved some vacation time at my office, so I will have the next 3 Fridays free to write. This is the sort of strategy needed when in the heart of the storm: I will look it right in its glazed eye and march off to the library, where I am sure to meet legions of comrades-in-arms.

My other strategy, on-going, is that I am an early riser and find the pre-dawn hours a perfect time for concentrating on reading, writing and research–it’s a particularly quiet, fresh and stress-free time of day.

How about you? What works for you? I would love to hear how fellow students manage to fit coursework into full and busy lives–it would be great to connect and share strategies here, so feel free to comment!

