Rachel writes: Home stretch

It’s hard to believe that there are only 4 or so weeks left in the semester. Granted, that’s a whole month, but time seems to shrink in anticipation of the 2 or 3 papers which still must be researched, drafted, written, and polished within that interim, not to mention the reading which accompanies that process. Luckily I will have a free week before my final paper is due; I often save some of my accrued office vacation time for budgeting dedicated time for writing and library trips. Since I work full time, and most of  my energy is spent by the end of the day, it’s wonderful–a luxury–to have entire days to spend developing research papers.

This semester’s course–Orientalism in British Literature and Visual Culture–has to this point focused on literature; this week we turn to the visual arts, which is my area of concentration. It’s been a while since I’ve been to the Fine Arts Library, and I’m looking forward to haunting it shortly.

