Sol writes: Spring means green and growing

Spring means that green is waiting; it means that the growth, whether we see it or not, has already begun.

I suppose introductions are first-  but where do I start?

Hi, I’m Sol. Clinical psychology ALB, third year, no, no idea when I’ll be done (but no longer afraid I won’t finish.)   I like music, the occasional Victorian novel, sewing, gardening, and science. I hate injustice. Yes. Injustice, and gumdrops.  Don’t get me started. See? Introductions are so weird.

Smart gardeners are making planting charts, even if my yard’s still buried under snow.  Smart students are doing the same, mapping out what it’s going to take to get through the coming semester. It takes drive! It takes ambition! It takes… it takes homework time, and in my case, strong tea and good erasers.

I signed up for tech writing, and Japanese 4. Both are a little intense, but I’m going to try algebra, too (provided I do well enough on the placement test. No promises, there.) That placement test means breaking out the books and brushing up. I’m partial to this guide,  but there’s lots out there. (I also use the Coop, so the link is for identification only.)

I made an appointment with my advisor, to talk about what to take over summer and fall this year.  Each semester means looking at my life again, thinking about what’s going to be affected by my homework. One course isn’t too bad, to be honest- one course at a time didn’t affect the rest of my life much. I always tell people to start with one. Two classes meant making easy dinners two nights a week, and serious homework, even when one was a distance course. Two classes meant that I started using flash cards on the train and proofreading my work during lunch breaks.

I was inspired by a woman in my last math class, who was taking three courses a week and working full time in a similar occupation. Her grades were good and her attitude relentlessly cheerful. I keep meeting people in class whom I want to be like when I grow up.

(Yes, she was younger than I am.)

Three classes  means that I’ll have less time, less energy, and less attention for everything else. I don’t try it every semester. Between work and school, I need to make sure that the rest of my life doesn’t go down the drain. I talked with my partner about it, making sure that we both know what kind of time commitment I’m making, and making a plan  for getting through the weeks fed and functional. Casseroles are an adult student’s best friend.

We talked about weekends, and what I’m getting into with the Humanist group on Saturday mornings. I think I’ll still go to that; it did me a lot of good.  We talked about how to handle it on good weeks,  versus tough ones (projects and exams, etc.)  Our discussion doesn’t cover everything, but it at least lays out a general plan.  It’s a lot like gardening, only without the epic battle against the squirrel who digs up my lily bulbs every spring.

I’m looking forward to good weather, interesting classes, and finally understanding all these little x and y equations. You’re invited along for all of it, the awkwardness and the fun and the transformative power of learning. The Extension School is something special, and I can’t tell you how proud I am to be part of a class with so many determined students in it.

Let me get my erasers, and we’ll set ourselves out together for Spring.

One Comment

  1. Posted January 24, 2010 at 4:10 am | Permalink

    My comment on this blog is great! inspiration for a school start. Whether do your schooling online (Harvard) or Harvard University don’t have any difference, but the quality of learning plus your own ability to finish. Goodluck inspiring students!

