Lilli writes: Course Warnings

The funniest course warning I ever read actually did scare me off.  It read something like this,

“The time commitment for this course is intense.  Do not take this class if you have a job, if you are married, if you have children or if you have a dog.”

I thought to myself, that seems a little over the top, but I do need my job, would prefer to remain married, and my dog would be very upset if she was not walked every day for 15 weeks.   So I opted for another less intimidating write-up.  I met the TA for the course a few weeks later and she said I should not have been intimidated because, all the professor was trying to do was impress upon potential students that he expected fully commited students.  Honestly that makes sense to me.  I have certainly met a few students who are just trying something out as opposed to working towards a goal and that must be very frustrating for a professor.  I know it is annoying as a fellow student.

I am glad to know that professors want serious students as much as I want brilliant professors.  Too bad I let that course scare me.

2 Comments

  1. Posted October 21, 2009 at 5:04 pm | Permalink

    What was the course?

    • Lilli G., ALM in IT candidate
      Posted December 19, 2009 at 11:05 pm | Permalink

      I think it was c# but I can’t remember the professors name

